Skip to Content

The CEDAW established the Committee on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women, which is responsible for overseeing the implementation of its provisions.

The Committee is composed of 23 experts who are elected by secret ballot from a list of persons “of high moral standing and competence in the field covered by the Convention” nominated by States Parties. In the election of persons to the Committee, consideration is given to equitable geographical distribution and to the representation of different civil traditions and legal systems. The members of the Committee serve four-year terms. Although nominated by their own governments, members serve in their personal capacity, not as delegates or representatives of their countries of origin. 

The Committee was established in 1982 and monitors the progress of the implementation of the CEDAW. It examines and makes General Recommendations on the reports submitted by States Parties in accordance with Article 18 of the CEDAW.

The Committee also receives and considers communications submitted under the complaints mechanism set out in the Optional Protocol.