Skip to Content

The European Committee of Social Rights consists of a panel of 15 independent experts.

The Committee only allows collective complaints from the following:
a) international organisations of employers and trade unions referred to in paragraph 2 of Article 27 of the Charter;
b) other international non-governmental organisations which have consultative status with the Council of Europe and have been put on a list established for this purpose by the Governmental Committee;
c) representative national organisations of employers and trade unions within the jurisdiction of the Contracting Party against which they have lodged a complaint.

Furthermore, the Committee can only receive complaints against the 11 States who have ratified the additional protocol providing for a system of collective complaints since it was adopted in November 1995. Such complaints are also allowed against the 3 States who have recognised competence of the Committee by declaring as much when ratifying the revised charter; Bulgaria, Slovenia and Moldova.

The Committee is more willing to deal with Economic, Social and Cultural rights than the Court.

Any decision of the Committee is not allowed to be made public until 4 months after the resolution or recommendation. By the time it is made public, the impact of the decision may be diluted, according to Article 1 of the Additional Protocol to the European Social Charter Providing for a System of Collective Complaints, 1995. For a comprehensive list of the organisations allowed to make collective complaints, please see the Council of Europe website here.

For detailed information about rules for making a complaint to the European Court of Human Rights, please follow the link to the excellent Litigating Economic, Social and Cultural Rights: Legal Practitioners Dossier released by the Centre on Housing Rights and Evictions (COHRE) at p.170